Tribute to the “Bravest Man I Ever Knew”: Alan Rickman

IMG_20150625_173743~2

It was a summer day, twelve years ago, when I’d picked up my first book of Harry Potter. It was a world that I’d grown up with. The characters aided me throughout my teenage years, pushing me in the right direction, showing me the way to where I am today.

Of all the characters in the series, Severus Snape was the one who seemed to grow the most. From the most hated teacher at Hogwarts, he subtly walked back into the shadows, always keeping a watchful eye, an angry eye, on everything going on at Hogwarts. He was a confidant to Dumbledore, a spy among the Death Eaters, a man who worked the hardest to disrupt the deeds of his past and change the course of a larger story.

pic_1384353292_1

Any Potterhead would agree that his point-of-view throughout the series would have made a more grueling, compelling story-line. Yet we see him through Potter’s eyes as the bravest man he’d ever known.

When I first saw Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone film, I was amazed at how well the actors could manage to bring our favourite characters to life. Especially in the case of Alan Rickman. His characterisation of Severus Snape- a hated character who grows to be the hero of the series- is the best. As the series progressed, we see many of the actor side-tracking and moving away from how the book actually described them.

changes

But not Alan! Oh no! He made sure to be the sassiest Snape throughout the muggle and the magical world.

So, wands raised to you, Sir Rickman! You truly are one of the best Headmasters at Hogwarts and the “bravest man I ever knew.”

images (3)

Author:

A rare book-lover in a world of dwindling pages and growing technology...

Leave a Reply

